Used and postmarked Australia / Austrailian Stamp 50c Koala 1992

Used and postmarked Australia / Austrailian Stamp 50c Koala 1992 Stock Photo

Image details


Tony Smith / Alamy Stock Photo

Image ID:


File size:

31.8 MB (1.7 MB Compressed download)


Model - no | Property - noDo I need a release?


3629 x 3062 px | 30.7 x 25.9 cm | 12.1 x 10.2 inches | 300dpi

Date taken:

4 January 2015



More information:

Postage stamps and postal history of Australia The six self-governing Australian colonies that formed the Commonwealth of Australia on 1 January 1901 operated their own postal service and issued their own stamps – see articles on the systems on New South Wales (first stamps issued 1850), Victoria (1850), Tasmania (1853), Western Australia (1854), South Australia (1855) and Queensland (1860). Under section 51(v) of the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution 1900, “postal, telegraphic, telephonic, and other like services” became a Commonwealth responsibility. The koala (Phascolarctos cinereus or, inaccurately, koala bear[a]) is an arboreal herbivorous marsupial native to Australia. It is the only extant representative of the family Phascolarctidae, and its closest living relatives are the wombats. The koala is found in coastal areas of the mainland's eastern and southern regions, inhabiting Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria and South Australia. It is easily recognisable by its stout, tailless body; round, fluffy ears; and large, spoon-shaped nose. The koala has a body length of 60–85 cm (24–33 in) and weighs 4–15 kg (9–33 lb). Pelage colour ranges from silver grey to chocolate brown. Koalas from the northern populations are typically smaller and lighter in colour than their counterparts further south. It is possible that these populations are separate subspecies, but this is disputed.