University of Oslo, The Faculty of Law, Oslo, Norway.

- Image ID: CRE878
University of Oslo, The Faculty of Law, Oslo, Norway.
Jeff Gilbert / Alamy Stock Photo
Image ID: CRE878
The University of Oslo (Norwegian: Universitetet i Oslo, Latin: Universitas Osloensis) is the oldest, largest and most prestigious university in Norway, situated in the Norwegian capital of Oslo. It was founded in 1811 as The Royal Frederick University (in Norwegian Det Kongelige Frederiks Universitet and in Latin Universitas Regia Fredericiana). The university was modelled after the recently established University of Berlin, and originally named after King Frederick of Denmark and Norway. It received its current name in 1939. The university has faculties of (Lutheran) Theology, Law, Medicine, Humanities, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Dentistry, Social Sciences, and Education. The Faculty of Law is still located at the old campus on Karl Johans gate, near the National Theatre, the Royal Palace, and the Parliament.
Location: Faculty of Law, Oslo University, Karl Johans Gate, Oslo, Norway