Trinity College, interior of the Hall

- Image ID: BGEECX
Cameni Images / Alamy Stock Photo
The College was founded in 1546 by King Henry VIII and is today the largest, wealthiest and by far the most distinguished college of Cambridge University. In founding Trinity, Henry VIII forced the amalgamation of two small colleges, Michaelhouse and King’s Hall which had already existed on the site for two centuries. The oldest of the college buildings date to the 14th century but many new buildings have been added over the centuries. The Wren Library is much admired not only for its architecture but also for its outstanding collection of rare manuscripts, books and papers. The Great Gate with the statue of Henry VIII and the enormous Great Court are other important features of the college. Trinity owns the Cambridge Science Park, Felixstowe Docks and a great deal of property in Cambridge and across the nation. Its academic and intellectual distinction places it foremost among Cambridge colleges. It has provided 32 Nobel Laureates to the Cambridge University total of 85. Trinity alumni include Isaac Newton, Clerk Maxwell (theory of electromagnetism), J J Thomson (discovery of the electron), Lord Rutherford (atomic theory), Pyotr Kapitsa (physics), the philosophers Bertrand Russell and Ludwig Wittgenstein, the poets Byron, Tennyson, Marvell, Dryden, and Iqbal, the politicians Arthur Balfour, Stanley Baldwin and Jawaharlal Nehru (India’s first Prime Minister), the economists James Meade and Amartya Sen. The picture was drawn by I A Bell and engraved by J Le Keux
Location: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England