The Hillsboro Inlet Light was originally built in Detroit, Michigan. In 1906 it was
disassembled, each part numbered, and then shipped more than 4,000 nautical miles down the Mississippi River to Florida to be reassembled at the Hilllsboro Inlet. It was painted its unique black and white color to differentiate it from other lighthouses in the area and was first illuminated in March, 1907. Hillsboro Inlet Lighthouse continues to serve as an active navigational aid. Affectionately known as The Big Diamond, its second order bivalve Fresnel lens is visible 28 miles at sea, marking the northern approach to Miami.
In this image the lighthouse has its keeper's quarters repaired after Hurricane Wilma in 2005. The casurina pines which once populated the grounds are also gone as seen in pre-Wilma lighthouse station images. Images of Lighthouses are locked in time no matter when they are taken as the very elements which necessitate the presence of the lighthouse, change the surroundings. These iron skeletal structures have stood the test of time.