To reach the Port Sunlight Lyceum from this viewpoint, one has to cross the Dell Bridge, shown in the foreground. The Lyceum used to house 30 odd snooker tables and boasts a crown bowling green to the front. Originally built in 1894-6 as a school for developing the community of Port Sunlight and also as a place of worship until the church was built. It later acquired the name “Lyceum”. Today it is being used partly as a social centre and partly as architects' offices.
The Dell Bridge was built for Lever Brothers in their model village of Port Sunlight and was designed by Douglas & Fordham, architects from Chester, and built in sandstone in 1894. The footbridge is over a former tidal creek that used to flow in Bromborough Pool which was dammed at the beginning of the 20th Century. Today the area is landscaped with gardens and is situated just below the Iconic Lyceum Building itself. The ground provides a quiet picturesque area for contemplation and perhaps a natural rest after visiting all the other delights that Port Sunlight has to offer. It is recorded in the National Heritage List for England as a designated Grade II listed building. It carries a pedestrian walkway over a landscaped hollow which had been formed from a former tidal inlet. It is a saddle-back bridge with a parabolic arch. The keystones are carved with masks, one of a Jacobean man, the other of a Restoration man. Above these are plaques, that to the east bears an inscription; that to the west a sundial. The bridge is supported by buttresses, and at each end is a canted projection with decorated panels. There are benches by the walkway. Originally there were ball finials on the bridge, but these are no longer present.
The Lyceum is in Bridge Street, Port Sunlight, Merseyside, England. Originally built as a school, it is now used for a variety of purposes, including housing a social club. It was built for William Lever in 1894–96, and was originally built as the school for the community