Paul Bason sitting in the cockpit of his 1971, March 712, formerly driven by James Hunt, during the 2019 Silverstone Classic Media/Test Day

- Image ID: T3RAY5
John Gaffen / Alamy Stock Photo
Image ID: T3RAY5
March Engineering was a Formula One constructor and manufacturer of customer racing cars from the United Kingdom. Although only moderately successful in Grand Prix competition, March racing cars enjoyed much better achievement in other categories of competition, including Formula Two, Formula Three, IndyCar and IMSA GTP sportscar racing. This March 712 was driven by James Hunt in 1972 at the Rothmans 50000 held at Brands Hatch (a non-championship race) where he finished 5th (2nd in class). Emerson Fittipaldi won the race in the F1 category, driving a Lotus 72D Ford. The Rothmans 50,000 was a motor race held at the Brands Hatch circuit on August 28, 1972 with a prize fund of £50,000. The race was held to Formula Libre rules, but the top placing three cars were all F1 cars - with Emerson Fittipaldi winning the race from pole in a Lotus 72, Brian Redman in a McLaren M19A taking second and Henri Pescarolo driving a March 711 finishing third. The race was run over 118 laps of the full GP circuit and initial plans were for an entry of up to 100 cars with a race for the first thirty qualifiers and a secondary race for quailifiers in positions 30 to 60. The entry list was ultimately lower than expected but a secondary race was still run. This was won by Dave Morgan (Brabham BT38), with Ian Ashley (Lola T191) and Tony Dean (Brabham BT30/36) second and third respectively. Formula Two, abbreviated to F2, was a type of open wheel formula racing first codified in 1948. It was replaced in 1985 by Formula 3000, but revived by the FIA from 2009–2012 in the form of the FIA Formula Two Championship. The goal of the 2009 revival was to develop a low-cost series to allow young drivers a chance to compete in the highest tiers of motorsport. In December 2012, series promoter MSV announced that Formula Two would not take place after 2013 due to declining entrant numbers, and the series was disbanded. A third attempt at establishing the series was announced in 2015.[
Location: Silverstone Circuit, Towcester, Northamptonshire NN12 8TN